Virudhunagar District is situated in the southern portion of Tamil Nadu State. It is bounded on the north by the districts of Madurai and Sivagangai. On the east by the districts of Sivagangai and Ramanathapuramm on the south by the districts of Thoothukudi and Tirunelveli and on the west by a portion of Kerala State and the district of Madurai. The District Headquarters is Virudhunagar Town. It covers an area of 4243 sq. kms and is divided into 9 Taluks, namely Aruppukottai, Kariapatti, Rajapalayam, Sattur, Sivakasi, Srivilliputhur, Thiruchuli, Vembakottai andVirudhunagar.